THE iDOLM@STER SideM 1st STAGE ~ST@RTING~ [Complete Side]

sidem1st_0

(Original post from 2016)

The iDOLM@STER SideM held its first major concert on December 6 2015 at Maihama Amphitheater. Nineteen seiyuu, six units, two concerts in one day.

I have been watching this series grow since the end of 2014. I knew before the blu-ray was even announced that I would be getting the full package; I didn’t have a blu-ray player but that didn’t matter. I wanted a tokuten too. This concert was a big stepping stone for the series and I was going to get as full experience as I could through a screen.

sidem1st_9

Let’s go through everything slowly, shall we?

sidem1st_1

The packaging design is super, super charming. It’s stylish but plenty playful.

The cover-slip front is seen above in the first pic, and on the back it has the unit logos.

On the actual fitting holding the discs is the key visual and on another card is a SideMini version (and content information on the other side) that you can display at the back.

Unfortunately the minis are a bit too mini and some of them on the top row get covered by the unit logos.

The Complete Side consists of three discs:

  1. Sun Side
  2. Moon Side
  3. Special Disc

Sun Side and Moon Side are the two concerts, one being the day time concert and the other being the night concert. All the units (DRAMATIC STARS, Beit, HighxJoker, S.E.M, W, Jupiter) performed at both with the same setlist. The discs contain an alternate audio track with commentary from seiyuu.

The special disc contains backstage footage and a feature called “After-meeting,” where each unit discusses the live at a place reflecting their unit.

sidem1st_4

Included in the Complete Side was a photobook.

There’s a lovely panorama shot of everyone doing the 315 pose on the opening pages. Each seiyuu has a page showing their character and a collage of photos. There’s also a few pages dedicated to group shots and, of course, credits for everyone involved with the concert – Producers all around the world get a special thanks!

I forgot to take a pic for W, sorry…

Although my favourite unit is Beit, S.E.M’s tokuten stood out to me because I love the seiyuu and their outfits. However, running the numbers, using a shopping service on top of everything was getting quite pricey – and I still didn’t have a blu-ray player! Still, I was determined to get a tokuten for the first time in my life so I went with the easy option of Amazon.

Amazon’s tokuten featured the sparkling youth unit HighxJoker. It included an A5 postcard with seiyuu on one side and the unit’s 1st live key visual on the other, plus a tote bag with each member’s silhouette.

As for the contents on the disc, it’s everything I dreamed of and more. The seiyuu put a lot of work into their performances – there’s several songs I have a new-found appreciation for too.

Leave a comment